Thursday, September 14, 2017

INVITE To * 32nd- Mayor's Arts Awards on Thursday, September 14th, 2017 at 6 pm at Historic Lincoln Theatre - 1215 U Street NW, Washington, DC

See this message from Bloomingdale resident Jose Alberto Ucles:

Dear Neighbors 

As Chairman of this years  Mayor's Arts Awards, (3rd Year!) and Commissioner of  our Ward 5 for the DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities, it is a pleasure to invite you and a guest to attend.

No need to RSVP if you arrive by 6-6:30 pm as passes are available for free!

Dress to Impress...theme is red and gold as you can see from invite or creative cocktail!

Come enjoy the Red Carpet and Pre-Show 
Ceremony starts at 7pm

See you soon..
Cheers and the Best Always

Jose Alberto Ucles
Chair, Mayor's Arts Awards
Commissioner Ward 5 - DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities

Announcing the 2017 Mayor's Arts Awards 

Honorees and Finalists 

Mayor Muriel Bowser and the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (CAH) are proud to announce the special honorees and finalists of the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards.

The Mayor's Arts Awards are the most prestigious honors conferred by the District on individual artists, teachers and nonprofit organizations. The DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities will present the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards at the Historic Lincoln Theatre on September 14, 2017.

At the public awards ceremony in September, three individuals will be recognized as special honorees. Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, co-founder of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, will receive the Mayor's Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement. Ari Roth, artistic director of Mosaic Theatre Company, will receive the Mayor's Arts Award for Visionary Leadership. Jazz musician and educator Davey Yarborough will receive the Mayor's Arts Award for Distinguished Honor.

"The individuals and organizations being honored at the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards add to the vibrancy of Washington, DC and help us define who we are as a city. Today, our creative economy is a powerful driver of economic development, helping revitalize neighborhoods and improve the quality of life for residents in all eight wards," said Mayor Bowser. "Washington, DC is rich with arts and culture, and we are proud to highlight the hardworking professionals who make life better for Washingtonians and visitors alike." 

The 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards

Thursday, September 14, 2017 

Red Carpet & Pre Show * 6:00 PM - Show 7:00 PM

Reception to Follow

Historic Lincoln Theatre

1215 U Street NW, Washington, DC

Red/Gold or Creative Cocktail Wear

Paid Valet Parking Available

Finalists for the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards  

Category Finalist
Excellence in Creative Industries  Paul Marengo 

Studio Theatre 

Environmental Film Festival in the Nation's Capital 

Washington Area Lawyers for the Arts 

 Excellence in Performing Arts  Washington Improv Theater 

The Choral Arts Society of Washington 

Dance Place 

Only Make Believe

Excellence in the Humanities  Rayceen Pendarvis 

Kitty Felde 

Joy Ford Austin 

Recreation Wish List Committee 

Excellence in Visual Arts  Sondra N. Arkin 

Katherine Tzu-Ian Mann 

Cory L. Stowers 

Michael Crossett 

The Larry Neal Writers' Award (Adult)  Taylor Johnson 

Brendan Williams-Childs 

Mona Nicole Sfeir 

Dionne Peart 

The Mayor's Award for Arts Education  The Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts 

Inner City-Inner Child 

Young Playwright's Theater 

Sitar Arts Center 


About the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities

The DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities provides grants, professional opportunities, education enrichment, and other programs and services to individuals and nonprofit organizations in all communities within the District of Columbia. The Arts Commission is supported primarily by District government funds and in part by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Executive Director: Arthur Espinoza, Jr.
Commissioners:  Kay Kendall, Chair | Stacie Lee Banks | Susan Clampitt | Edmund C. Fleet
Haili Francis | Rhona Wolfe Friedman | Alma H. Gates | Darrin L. Glymph | Miles Gray
Lawrence Green | MaryAnn Miller | Elvi Moore | Josef Palermo | Maria Hall Rooney
Cicie Sattarnilasskorn | José Alberto Uclés | Gretchen B. Wharton

No comments:

Post a Comment